top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

Confusion

There are times I get confused. I write these posts months in advance, and recently I decided to actually schedule them so if I die or get hospitalized for whatever reason, they’ll still post on time. They won’t be shared on social media, but at least those who miss them can still find them if they look.

I save them on my computer using a date code like this: 200719 Confusion, meaning it’ll post on July 19, 2020, and is titled Confusion. But what happens if I forget to write one for May 31st? That’s right, my postings get off by a week. And I didn’t notice until I started using the scheduling option. Then I noticed I was two weeks ahead. So I spent an hour looking for why.

First off, I wrote and saved one back in April, but didn’t import. That was my first mistake. Most of my time hunting was, “Where is my OTHER missing post?” Yeah. May 31st. So I contemplated what to do to make up that extra week to get back on track.

“I know! I’ll write a new post to fill in that extra week, then I’ll be back on track before the end of the month.” I decided to write about confusion.

The thing is, God is never confused. He puts exactly what’s needed into play at the exact moment it’s needed. Does He need to have the flood-stage Jordan dry up so Joshua and company can walk into the Promised Land on dry ground? There’s a collapsing riverbank temporarily cutting off the water at juuuust the right time so that a few minutes later, a few miles downstream, the battle formations of the Israelite nation can march through and not get their feet wet.

The same kinds of things happen time and again throughout the Bible. If that landslide had come a half-hour earlier, or Joshua was a half-hour later, the whole plan would have failed.

God wasn’t late, He wasn’t early, and He certainly never misses a blog post.

That one’s on me.

Then again, that collapse might be for a reason. Maybe there’s someone needing to cross a river downstream.

I might never know, but God does.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows

I’ve previously written about The Cave, from Plato’s Republic. In that story we find people chained to a wall, watching shadows moving on the opposite wall. Reality might be the exact opposite. What d

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

bottom of page