top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

Have You Heard This One?


“I Only Believe Part Of The Bible”


WHAT?


Do you see how weird that seems? There’s a part of the Bible that says something like, “Woe to those who take anything away from this book.” In other words, if you don’t believe the whole thing you’re a slice of bread over an open flame: in other words, toast.


Personally, there are parts of the Bible I’d rather weren’t there. Since God never asked, I don’t get my opinion. I either believe it, or I don’t. Picking and choosing isn’t an option. When you pick “believe,” you don’t get “not that part.” If you insist on “not that part,” you’re saying you don’t believe.


If there’s a set of instructions on how to install a microwave, do you get to pick and choose what parts to follow? I guess that answer is yes, but you do so at your own peril. If you need a circuit capable of handling “this” many amps and you install it on a circuit rated for “that” many amps, you risk a fire. And remember, you’re a slice of bread. Toast.


So if you don’t believe the whole Bible, it’s like running a twenty-amp appliance on a fifteen-amp circuit. Eventually it’ll come back to toast.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows

I’ve previously written about The Cave, from Plato’s Republic. In that story we find people chained to a wall, watching shadows moving on the opposite wall. Reality might be the exact opposite. What d

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

bottom of page