top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

Steak

I’m a little on the strange side. Many of you are thinking, “Tell me something I don’t know.” I have a specific example:


Before Linda and I were married she invited me to her house for a cookout. She’d bought a variety of steaks, and asked me, which one I would like for supper? I don’t remember what kinds she had, but I told her, “I’d really just rather have a burger.”


Yes, I prefer hamburger to steak. I was a little concerned that she might be offended because she’d gone to the expense of buying a number of steaks. Later she told me, “No, that meant I could eat all those steaks.” So everything worked out.


There are few people who would eat raw meat. There are some, but for the most part the thought of eating raw meat is repugnant. Still, when you go to a store and select a steak you can tell when it’s going to be a good one. There’s the marbling, the edges should be even and not ragged, and a bunch of other factors. But in the end you have to cook the steak. Brisket is much the same, though the signs of a good one are different. Cooking them requires different processes as well.


Jesus looks at you like a good brisket. Most of the time you need to have “low and slow,” though with a “second cut” there’s more marbling and it’s more forgiving. The point of this is that he knows what you can become, and isn’t so focused on what you are.


I was the tough cut. Not that I was a tough person (in fact I was the Good Kid), but my development as a Christian required a longer cooking time. Some folks need tenderizing, others only need a good marinade and a few hours in the oven or crock pot.


You are a good cut. Jesus is looking at you and thinking, “This could be a great steak.” All you need is the right process.


If you want to learn more, please reach out to me. I’ve been posting these messages for some time now, and chances are you’ve found this on social media. Send me a message if you’d like to learn more. I’m ready to discuss this with you, without pressure.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows

I’ve previously written about The Cave, from Plato’s Republic. In that story we find people chained to a wall, watching shadows moving on the opposite wall. Reality might be the exact opposite. What d

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

bottom of page