top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

The Sequel

One of my favorite movies is the original Star Wars. The title crawl now calls it Episode IV: A New Hope. Watching the original release now makes it look cheap, but it was such a revolutionary movie that it changed the entire industry. I was deeply impacted by that movie, and later by another of my favorite movies, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Kahn.


When these kinds of movies come along they do tend to change things. Kinda like the first movie ever, the first “talkie,” the first movie to be in color, those kinds of things. And people wait for the sequel, like I did for Star Wars. Originally the first trilogy was supposed to be released two years apart, but because of the technology of the day it took three years.


In my opinion (and I know a lot of people who disagree), Empire Strikes Back wasn’t as good. It could simply be because it didn’t have a happy ending with the good guys winning. Luke gets his hand severed, Han is taken away by the bounty hunter, and the bad guys sent the good guys running off in disarray.


Some argue that Empire was “dark” before “dark” was cool. There was nonstop excitement as the rebels were on the run. There are a couple of cliffhangers (“No. I am your father.” And don’t forget, “There is another Skywalker.”)


Probably the world’s favorite Bible quote is the same kind of thing. God loved the world so much He sent His only Son. Oh, that’s nice. But the sequel makes you question things.


He didn’t come to condemn. “Huh? How’s that? How can we feel better about ourselves if God doesn’t condemn the bad guys? What kind of religion is this if we can’t look down our noses at those people.”


Spoiler Alert: It comes out later we’re ALL those people, as Paul points out in Romans.


A lot of Christians focus on God being so loving that He sent His Son. “I can feel good that I’m on the right side of God. Aren’t I smart for picking Him? If you don’t, you’re just dumb.”


The point of the whole Bible is that God doesn’t want to condemn anyone. When Christians act like they’re better than others, it turns people away. God wants everyone to be saved, so He doesn’t condemn. He reaches out.


Like the story of the Prodigal Son. Notice when that young kid comes back to daddy with his tail between his legs, daddy comes running. “Yo! Throw a party! My kid’s back!” He’s glad to have his son back home. You can come home to God, too.


But there’s another brother. He’s ticked off because, “I’ve stuck with you, Pops, and did everything you’ve asked. Now here’s this wastrel back home and you’re sucking down my inheritance to throw him a party?”


That child was a self-righteous brat, who only viewed his father as a meal ticket. “I checked the box for doing chores, so you owe me. My brother did nothing so you don’t owe him anything.”


Dad told the older brother, “Kid, what I have is yours. Why do you begrudge your brother the pittance I’ve spent on him?”


Did you notice that the father had to reach out to both of His sons? Neither one of them measured up. That father so loved his sons that he didn’t condemn either of them.


God’s purpose - the whole reason for the Bible - is to tell mankind they’re safe with their Heavenly Father. Out in the world, without His protection, it’s dangerous.


Come back to the Father. He’ll run out to get you, throw a robe on you, have a party, and claim you as His own before you get back. Or, if you’re the resentful older brother, He’ll come out to the barn to find out what’s bothering you.


Listen to Him. He’ll tell you what you’re doing wrong and welcome you to the party He’s throwing.


Just remember, He’s telling you, “I am your Father.”



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

Why do I do it?

Because I can and nobody else will.

bottom of page