top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

The Shower II

One year Linda and I had family coming to visit from Hawaii. At the time there was only one bathroom in our house. So we needed to get another one ready before the guests arrived. One toilet and shower is good for us two, but a husband and wife and young son needed to have facilities of their own. So we enclosed the “we’ll get to it someday” bedroom, and got the bathroom ready as well.


The thing is, I tend to question directions. The strip that goes up the wall to hold the shower wall in place said to put it right “there” - that far from the corner. I looked at it, and thought, that’s not right. That’s too far away from the corner. It belongs “here.”


So I put it “here” instead of “there.”


As you may have guessed, I was wrong.


Being tight on time, we didn’t have the luxury of moving studs and putting that strip in the right place. So we made do with having a sub-par shower stall put in the basement.


It works.


Kinda.


People do that with life’s little instruction book, the Bible. It says to do “this, that and the other thing.” But it doesn’t seem right. “I think I’ll do it this way instead. It feels right.”


That’s how humanity got in trouble in the first place. God said, “Eat whatever you want, except ‘that’ fruit. Leave it alone.”


But it looked good. What could it hurt? It’s just a piece of fruit, so what’s the big deal?


These days people are mystified about how one couple munching a piece of fruit could ruin the whole universe. Well, let me tell ya, there’s water damage going on in my basement because I didn’t follow the directions.


This ruination didn’t collapse the universe right away either. The water damage is still happening, and until the studs are positioned right and the strip holding up the shower walls are put in the right place, the damage will continue.


How long would it take to fix my shower stall? A few hours when we didn’t have time to fix it. Now there are holes drilled through the shower wall, so putting things in order now would simply change one problem for another.


What needs to happen is to have the shower torn out and installed by a professional.


Sound familiar?


The universe is falling apart, and it needs to be torn out and reinstalled by a professional.


Know anyone with that kind of expertise?


I know one.


He’s getting his tools lined up.


Will you be with Him or against Him?



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

Why do I do it?

Because I can and nobody else will.

bottom of page