top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark

What is “Holy”?

Updated: Mar 17, 2019

The first definition where I looked came up with “specially recognized” for “holy.” I’ve heard a better one: set apart. Israel was a nation “set apart” from the rest of the world. They were to be a holy nation, filled with holy people. God’s people. And that’s what the Christian church is supposed to be, too. Each Christian is “set apart” for their own special purpose. The Bible teaches about a concept of spiritual gifts, but it boils down to holy – set apart – to do something God wants accomplished. Every one of us is uniquely designed for That Purpose. Others might be able, but you were made FOR your mission on Earth, just as I was put here for MY mission. Someone else might accomplish the same thing, but not the way He wants it done. I’m a writer. Pretty much everything that’s happened in my life has pointed me that direction, and in the first couple of months of 2018 it occurred to me what my life’s work would be. I’m working that direction now, but that’s not the point I’m trying to make. You, too, have a special something God put you here to do. You are holy – set apart. You belong to God. Having made that clear (I’m assuming), keep in mind something else the Bible teaches: The angels all sing to God, “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord God Almighty.” Yep. We may be set apart, the only one ever, but God is set apart from being set apart after being The Only One Ever.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows

I’ve previously written about The Cave, from Plato’s Republic. In that story we find people chained to a wall, watching shadows moving on the opposite wall. Reality might be the exact opposite. What d

This Is It

One of the verses most-often quoted is John 3:16. IMHO, it's criminal to separate that from John 3:17. In my reading this morning from Warren Wiersbe's exposition on Isaiah, he explains. God loves bot

What about?

One of the responses to presentations about Christ’s forgiveness is, “What about my [father, mother, relative, jungle-dwelling aborigine in Africa]? Are you saying they’re going to Hell?” First off, I

bottom of page